Title III


Purpose of Title III – The purpose of Title III is to ensure that limited English proficient students develop English proficiency and meet the same academic content and academic achievement standards that all students are expected to meet. Districts must use these funds to implement language instruction educational programs that carry out activities that use approaches based on scientific research. Each district serving ELs is responsible for implementing instructional programs that lead ELs to meet annual measurable achievement objectives and make adequate yearly progress.

The ESEA defines the term “limited English proficient” (LEP) in part as students “…whose difficulties in speaking, reading, writing, or understanding the English language may be sufficient to deny the individual the ability to meet the State’s proficient level of achievement on State assessments…” (ESEA section 9101(25).) • In Oregon, English learner is used instead of LEP.

The following are documents that have been prepared by the Office of Research and Analysis for the Oregon Legislature.

2016-17 Oregon English Language Learner Report

2016-17 Oregon English Language Learner Report: English
2016-17 Oregon English Language Learner Report: Spanish
2016-17 Oregon English Language Learner Report: District Comparison Tool – English
2016-17 Oregon English Language Learner Report: District Comparison Tool – Spanish

Note: The 2016-17 Oregon English Language Learner Report: District Comparison Tool requires Microsoft Office 2010 or Later

For additional information, please contact thee Federal Programs coordinator, Lynn Rupp at lynn.rupp@district6.org, or 541-494-6207 or visit the Oregon Department pof Education’s website at http://www.ode.state.or.us/search/results/?id=106

Central Point School District 6 provides a parent liaison for our ELD families.  Damaris Remaiigo can be contacted at damaris.remigio@district6.org.

SCHOOL ELD TEACHER EMAIL SCHOOL PHONE
Central Point Elementary Tricia Black tricia.black@district6.org 541-494-6500
Jewett Elementary Emily Medina emily.medina@district6.org 541-494-6700
Mae Richardson Elementary Coleen Gies coleen.gies@district6.org 541-494-6600
Patrick Elementary Jennifer Marshall jennifer.marshall@district6.org 541-494-6840
Sams Valley Elementary Martha Ward martha.ward@district6.org 541-494-6870
Hanby Middle School Tracey Coffman tracey.coffman@district6.org 541-494-6800
Scenic Middle School Tracey Coffman tracey.coffman@district6.org 541-4946400
Crater Campus Sylvia Williamson sylvia.williamson@district6.org 541-494-6371